Should I Read Jane Eyre?

I have a confession. I have never read Jane Eyre and I have never had any desire to. In fact, I purposely left this book off my classics project reading list. I have absolutely no idea why I have always felt this way. This afternoon, Jayson, Alexa and I went to see the movie Country Strong. One of the previews was for the new Jane Eyre movie coming out and it actually looked really good. Now, I am thinking that I should read the novel. What if I am missing out on something great for reasons that I can’t even explain? So, I ask you…should I read Jane Eyre?

4 thoughts on “Should I Read Jane Eyre?

  1. I'm much more of an Austen person than a Bronte person, but I think Jane Eyre is worth reading. I didn't love it, but I did like it. I would love to see the new Jane Eyre movie. It looks fantastic.

  2. What a lovely blog you have here!

    I can't say definitively whether or not Jane Eyre is a must read as I only read it more than a decade ago. However, I plan to re-read it sometime this year. Your mention of a new film adaptation coming up may bump it up on my list.

Leave a Reply

