Bookstore Adventures … and a GWTW Giveaway!

Yesterday, Alexa and I visited Borders … probably for the last time. Literary fiction and children’s books were all 20% off and I was still able to use my Rewards Plus 10% discount. The coupons and member discounts that Borders offered over the recent years allowed me to add so many books to my shelves that I otherwise might not have been able to afford, but I can’t help but feel sad that those savings were probably a large factor in the store’s ultimate demise. I will miss Borders for sure! :(   The Loot:

I like to give books as part of any baby shower gift, so I picked up these two Curious George selections for my cousin. The one is a lift-the-flap book (I used to have a Paddington Bear lift-the-flap that I adored as a child) and the other is Curious George Visits the Library which I thought was fitting since I am such a book nut.

 

I was excited to grab the last copy of Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind: A Bestseller’s Odyssey from Atlanta to Hollywood, by Ellen F. Brown and John Wiley, that was in the store. I also picked up Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations …

 

 

… and Middlemarch by George Eliot, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder, and an upgraded copy of Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell … which brings me to my GWTW giveaway.

 

 

Erin at the Heroine’s Bookshelf is hosting the Great Gone With the Wind Read-Along this month (click on the button in my right column for a link to her site and more information) and since I have upgraded my copy of GWTW, I am giving away my gently used (read once) mass market paper back edition of the novel to one interested reader. All you need to do is comment on this post with your name, e-mail address (so I can contact the winner for an address), and tell me your favorite GWTW character. The giveaway will close next Wednesday, August 10th when the winner will be selected at random.

Hope you all are having an awesome August!

3 thoughts on “Bookstore Adventures … and a GWTW Giveaway!

  1. I am planning to visit my Borders again this weekend. Good job getting the Ellen Brown GWTW bio–I loved it!

    I have a great copy of GWTW but I wouldn’t mind winning your gently used copy for my daughter.

    I’m also doing the Gone With the Wind Read-Along and right now my favorite character is Uncle Peter–I love the way he raised Melanie and Charlie and looks after Miss Pittypat and scolds Scarlett (more than Mammy even!).

Leave a Reply

