I miss reading. *sigh*

So tired, just like her mommy!

The twins are almost 7 weeks old. The weeks have flown by in a sleep deprived blur. I miss sleep. I miss reading. I am not sure why I had imagined that I would be able to read a little when they are napping. I am home alone with them during the week days. When they do nap at the same time, I run around like a lunatic taking the dogs out, grabbing some food, and getting daily chores done. And when they go down at night, I go to bed too so I can get a few hours sleep before they wake to eat. I am really looking forward to when they both start sleeping through the night … or at least both sleep in a nice 7 hour stretch at the same time! I think then I will be able to read for an hour or so before bed.

I had hoped to participate in a read along of The Color Purple this month, but that didn’t work out. I am still hoping to participate in Allie’s Victorian event in June and July. Perhaps I can at least get Wuthering Heights read.

After delivery, I treated myself to a few new books. While I love my selections, I wish I had treated myself to the Nook instead. A few years ago, I purchased a Kindle. I ended up returning it, though, because I found that I still much preferred the paper book and so I could not justify spending the money for it. At the time they were new and much more expensive than they are now. I didn’t think I would ever consider an e-reader again, but I am now. I can’t hold a book to read and feed at the same time, but I could do it with a Nook. It would be no different from how I sometimes use my phone to read blogs while I am feeding. Has anyone else found an e-reader useful in this capacity?

The new selections (that I will hopefully read one day…lol!):

Margaret Mitchell and John Marsh: The Love Story Behind Gone With the Wind by Marianne Walker, The Bronte Myth by Lucasta Miller, Bleak House by Charles Dickens, The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

    

One thought on “I miss reading. *sigh*

  1. It’s tough with a newborn to get much done, let alone two. Hopefully they start sleeping more soon so you can get more rest and read a bit.

Leave a Reply

