2013 TBR Pile Challenge

1608f712ceffe9aee0c57f5173546389One of the reasons I originally started my reading project was that I wanted some motivation to read the classics I already had on my book shelf. However, the project ultimately led to my book collection expanding and now my “TBR pile” is larger than ever. So, I have decided to join Adam’s 2013 TBR Pile Challenge. I think I should be able to manage 1 book a month even with the twins. And if not…so it goes! The following is my list: (Some of the selections are from my reading project and some are not.)

1. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
2. The Catcher in the Rye, JD Salinger
3. Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoyevsky
4. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
5. Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf
6. The Turn of the Screw, Henry James
7. The Color Purple, Alice Walker
8. The Witch of Blackbird Pond, Elizabeth George Speare
9. Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret, Judy Blume
10. The World According to Garp, John Irving
11. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky
12. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer

8 thoughts on “2013 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. Oh, my. I’m in love with your list. Where to begin??

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is my favorite book of all time (yes, this coming from a lover of classics and literary fiction, and from a college English/Lit instructor). The Great Gatsby gets better everytime I read it (well, it’s the same book, so IT doesn’t do anything, but I appreciate it more and more – I’ve read it 3 times, now). Salinger is one of my top authors – Catcher in the Rye is a must (though not his best, in my opinion – still, it is iconic and understandably important). The Color Purple is brilliant and moving. Love Henry James, terrified of Virginia Woolf (but haven’t read Dalloway, yet!). I really enjoyed The World According to Garp, although a lot of elitists are frustrated by it. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is also a personal favorite.

    Honestly… this list is brilliant. You have such an amazing year of reading ahead of you in 2013! Good luck!

    • I am glad you are as excited about my list as I am.🙂 I knew you would be excited about Perks…lol! Can you believe I have never read The Great Gatsby?? I think I may read that one first. Everything on my list is new to me except Catcher in the Rye and Crime and Punishment. I read both of those in high school (20 years ago!!), and remember nothing much except I liked them both. They have both been on my list to re-read for the blog. The only Irving I have read is A Prayer for Owen Meany (which I loved), so I hope I enjoy Garp. I just hope I can get it all done with the twins!

  2. Some fantastic titles. I hope you love Pride and Prejudice as much as I do. I really need to read Crime and Punishment. I asked for and received it for my birthday last year and now it’s just sitting on the shelf. Maybe in 2013. Good luck with the challenge.

    • Crime and Punishment will actually be a re-read. I read it for AP English in high school, but remember nothing about it other than I liked it…

  3. I’m planning to read Pride and Prejudice this year too. I love your list of books, especially the one by Judy Blume. I used to love her books. I just read The Catcher in the Rye for the first time since high school this past year and found I liked it more than I used to.

Leave a Reply

